Kiitella Awards: The American Alpine Club Annual Benefit Dinner

Custom designed and fabricated awards for the American Alpine Club by Colorado metal artist Lisa Issenberg of Kiitella (Finnish v. to thank, applaud, praise), the plaques are a sleek fusion of hand-polished stainless steel, natural wool felt and laminated bamboo.
For the Robert Hicks Bates Award recipient Margo Hayes, Issenberg created a hefty & bold 5″ diameter jet-cut steel medallion, hand-polished with high-shined highlights, a riveted AAC logo, and finished with bright accessory cord.

On February 23-24 Boston will host the 2018 Annual Benefit Dinner for the American Alpine Club (AAC). The AAC’s most prestigious yearly event honors those making outstanding achievements in conservation, climbing and mountaineering.

This year’s honorees: John Roskelley is receiving an Honorary Membership, which is one of the highest awards the AAC offers; Alex Honnold is awarded The Robert and Miriam Underhill Award; Ellen Lapham is honored with the Heilprin Citation; Margo Hayes wins The Robert Hicks Bates Award; And former U.S. Secretary of the Interior and accomplished climber Sally Jewell is the recipient of the David R. Brower Conservation Award. Learn more about the awardees.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s